Worried you said the wrong thing on a date?

Here are some thoughts to help you feel better

Adulting in your 30s
5 min readOct 15, 2023

I really like them

Some part of me is sure I’m ready to marry them. Although rational me knows that I barely know this person so that probably would not a wise idea.

We went to a contemporary art museum. The main exhibit was titled “Devouring Lovers” and featured giant balloons and textured exercise balls creating lumps inside long, colorful spandex tubes.

Imagine if a snake has ate a few full size exercise balls. Now picture the snake wearing a millennial pink spandex suit.

It hung around the building, like something out of stranger things, except cheerfully colored in matching pinks an oranges and yellows.

Some of the intertwined blobs swayed slightly as if alive and breathing.

Devouring Lovers, by Eva Fàbregas. Photo owned by me.

Eventually they’ve had their fill of modern art, and we go to the museum cafe for cake and tea.

We share a gluten free raspberry brownie. I was unsure about the gluten free aspect, but they assured me it probably means extra dense chocolatey goodness since there is no flour. They were right. And since it’s Germany, they topped it with slivers of almonds an pumpkin seeds to make it slightly healthy.

--

--

Adulting in your 30s

Musings and self reflections of a 30 something who feels like an adult but a kid at the same time