When your first love wants to catch up after years apart

Is this a trap?

Adulting in your 30s
4 min readOct 8, 2023
Image: AI-generated using Bing Image Creator | Owned by the author as per Image Creator ToC

It all seems innocent enough. They saw from Instagram that I was back in town to visit my family.

They had moved back to town recently.

Would I like to meet for bubble tea?

Why not, I thought.

But, somehow, as the moment of reunion approaches, something feels off.

My gut tells me this is not a good use of my time.

What is there to say? What is the point? We’re friendly but not friends anymore.

The times when we have seen each other in the past years…well, to be honest, I always felt they were still trying to rekindle lost flame.

My first serious relationship

We were together for almost five years. That is a long ass time.

Were they my first love? I really can’t say. I must have loved them at some point, but in many ways, I’m ashamed to say, it was a relationship of convenience. Of cowardice.

We started spending time together near the end of high school, when I had a falling out with my friends. Suddenly, I was left with no one to each lunch with. No one to talk to in between periods.

--

--

Adulting in your 30s

Musings and self reflections of a 30 something who feels like an adult but a kid at the same time