What’s your Taylor Swift Breakup Song?

Adulting in your 30s
3 min readSep 2, 2023

--

We all know that Taylor does her best work after breakups. Thanks to her, we have a healthy selection of breakup anthems to choose from to tell the story of our own heart breaks.

I noticed that I was drawn to a completely different song in each of my breakups, and my girl friends each have their own song selections too.

What does your song of choice say about you?

Photo by Raphael Lovaski on Unsplash

Exile featuring Bon Iver

Her

I think I’ve seen this film before
And I didn’t like the ending
I’m not your problem anymore
So who am I offending now?
You were my crown
Now I’m in exile, seein’ you out
I think I’ve seen this film before
So I’m leavin’ out the side door

Him

All this time
I never learned to read your mind (never learned to read my mind)
I couldn’t turn things around (you never turned things around)
’Cause you never gave a warning sign (I gave so many signs)
So many signs, so many signs
You didn’t even see the signs

It’s over, and I’m exhausted and confused.

What happened? Why did it end?

Why does this keep happening to me?

I gave you so many hints, but you didn’t take them.

This is your song if you feel like you and your partner never proper communicated your needs and issues. These eventually festered until the point of no repair.

Wildest Dream

You’ll see me in hindsight
Tangled up with you all night
Burning it down
Someday when you leave me
I bet these memories
Follow you around

It’s over, but you want them to damn well remember it as the best time of their life.

Well, they were possible also your best (so far). Your happily ever after was within reach.

Unfortunately, due to toxic cocktail of bad timing, miscommunication, and maybe some jealousy thrown in, it just had to come to an end.

But you know you spiced up their life, and they’ll remember you forever for it.

The 1

I, I, I persist and resist the temptation to ask you
If one thing had been different
Would everything be different today?

We were something, don’t you think so?
Rosé flowing with your chosen family
And it would’ve been sweet
If it could’ve been me
In my defense, I have none
For digging up the grave another time
But it would’ve been fun
If you would’ve been the one

You had a good run, but it didn’t work out. You’ve had some time to recover and you’re mostly over it now.

But still, wouldn’t it have been nice if they were the one?

Sometimes you still can’t help but wonder, what if?

If you reacted differently to this one thing they did, would you still he happily together?

(Spoiler: Probably not!)

Clean

The drought was the very worst
(Oh-oh, oh-oh)
When the flowers that we’d grown together died of thirst
It was months and months of back and forth
(Oh-oh, oh-oh)
You’re still all over me
Like a wine-stained dress I can’t wear anymore

Hung my head as I lost the war
And the sky turned black like a perfect storm

Rain came pouring down
When I was drowning, that’s when I could finally breathe
And by morning
Gone was any trace of you, I think I am finally clean
(Oh, oh, oh, oh)

You’re sad that it ended, but you clearly see that it’s over and done.

You probably did a good job going no-contact, and finally your attachment and addiction to them is starting to feel like a distant past.

You’re clean, ready to move on. You may still look back on your time together fondly, but it’s no longer with sadness.

Which Taylor Swift song speaks most to you during your breakup? What do you think it means?

--

--

Adulting in your 30s

Musings and self reflections of a 30 something who feels like an adult but a kid at the same time