What is a foodie?

Musings from 2016, when being Yelp Elite was starting to become uncool

Adulting in your 30s
2 min readSep 7, 2023

I read somewhere a while ago that people who actually love food hate being called foodies. It’s kind of like how Yelp Elites have a bad rep, the title “Foodie” carries with it some air of feigned superiority.

No, I don’t think I know good food better than you. Taste is such a subjective thing, so if your favorite thing to eat ever in life is boiled chicken breast or a cold open faced sandwich, who am I to tell you you’re wrong?

So it’s always kind of weird when people ask for my thoughts at the end of meal. Unless I’m with other people who I know are on the same page in terms of tastes, it’s hard for me to say anything other than “it was great!” Because really, who wants to be the downer at the end of the meal when everyone has a happy, fully belly, to say, well the food actually kind of sucked?

Not me.

Everyone also has had different exposure to food. I’m lucky that my parents also appreciate the value of good food, so I grew up eating at restaurants and trying different types of food at a young age. At the point I’ll pretty much try anything. Except bugs. I don’t want crunchy bug legs in my teeth thanks. But everything else. Even things I know I don’t exactly like, I’ll try it again and again, because who knows, maybe with a different preparation, bell peppers actually taste good. Or maybe they’ll grow on me. Maybe not. But that’s okay. I’ll eat a little each…

--

--

Adulting in your 30s

Musings and self reflections of a 30 something who feels like an adult but a kid at the same time