Three great reasons to have kids

I have thought about this a lot

Adulting in your 30s
2 min readSep 21, 2023

As I wrote in I thought I would be married with kids at 30. I’m now 36 and single , I have finally decided to start saying out loud that I don’t want to have kids.

It’s been a load off my shoulder.

But I suppose I am open to them.

If I meet the right person? If I suddenly just felt like it?

Anyway, I’ve done a lot of thinking on reasons to have kids:

All your friends are doing it

Wouldn’t it be nice? To not be left out? You can complain about the struggles of parenthood together. Have playdates and disjointed conversations and laugh about it. Share tips on diaper changing. Babysit for each other.

Plus, if you don’t, who will you hang out with now that everyone has a kid?

God forbid you’ll have to make new friends?! Give me that baby now.

You’re curious to try it out

But really, shouldn’t we try most things once in life? Especially something as fulfilling as having your own human being?

I’ve always heard about the amazing, deep love one feels for their children, and I can’t begin to imagine what that feels like.

--

--

Adulting in your 30s

Musings and self reflections of a 30 something who feels like an adult but a kid at the same time