The two unexpected benefits of online dating in your late 30s

Adulting in your 30s
2 min readSep 11, 2023

Am I really in my lates 30s???

Well, let’s save that reflection for another day.

I have to admit, being back on dating apps after believing that I was done with them is a bit demoralizing.

Like, really? This again?

I should preface that I’m looking for a long term monogamous relationship — a partner in life. I had my brief stint in an open relationship, and I do believe humans are probably not meant to be monogomous, but having one relationship is hard enough, so I’d like to get that right first.

Anyway, now that I am looking to date people in their late 30s to early 40s, I have noticed a two reassuring trends in the dating pool:

Dating in your late 30s means more willingness to commit

The bane of my late 20s to early 30s dating life were people who are “not ready to commit.” It just wans’t what I was looking for. Now, gone are most of the “I don’t know what I’m looking for yet” or “I’m just here to have fun” people. The majority of profiles I have come across on Bumble and Hinge say they are looking for long term relationships. It could be a different story on Tinder though.

--

--

Adulting in your 30s

Musings and self reflections of a 30 something who feels like an adult but a kid at the same time