Reminder: Connection does not equal compatibility

Don’t get too attached too fast, please

Adulting in your 30s
4 min readSep 24, 2023

I went on a date the other day.

Recently, I’ve sworn off going on dates I’m not excited about. Although I know it’s the right thing to do, it’s still not easy to turn down a date citing lack of excitement. So far, the results have been mixed. Some unmatched me immediately, while others graciously wished me luck back, like mature humans.

But I digress.

The date.

We didn’t chat for long before making plans to meet up. His response to the profile prompt “today we could…” was go down your list of to-try restaurants.

I replied letting him know it’s a long list, and from there we made plans to go to one of them.

I wanted to pick a place that was tasty but not too fancy or sceney-. I decided on an Indonesian restaurant that I’ve heard good things about and have been meaning to try.

He promptly agreed.

In the five days between when we made the plan and when we were meeting, we didn’t talk much either. I kept re-reading his profile, trying to pick up hints about who he is, and to reconfirm that I do feel excited about him.

--

--

Adulting in your 30s

Musings and self reflections of a 30 something who feels like an adult but a kid at the same time