Once a city person, always a city person

Tell me I’m wrong

Adulting in your 30s
4 min readOct 22, 2023
Image: AI-generated using Bing Image Creator | Owned by the author as per Image Creator ToC

It’s Autumn in Berlin, and we just got a two day preview of Winter with opaque grey skies, incessant drizzle of rain, and temperature in the 40s.

I never thought weather has a huge impact on me, but the last I really didn’t want to leave the house. They felt like perfect weather to stay home and do nothing

Except staying home doesn’t necessarily means I get to chill and do nothing. There is still that pesky thing called work.

Also, instead of staying home, I had busy days planned and was forced to be out and about.

I put on my full Iceland rain gear and cycled to a spin class on a my e-bike (the irony?). By the afternoon, I gave up on cycling and took the U-bahn (subway for my Americans) to an apartment viewing.

And wow, I used to think I was fine taking the train, but having upgraded to a bike the last few months, I definitely do not miss the U-bahn. It was extra crowded thanks to the rain, poorly ventilated, and just not pleasant at all.

The apartment I was looking at sits right at the border of two hip districts — Mitte and Kreuzberg. Mitte, which literally means middle, is exactly that (Germans are creative). It’s the city center, with hip cafes serving 4 euro cappucinos, slightly too…

--

--

Adulting in your 30s

Musings and self reflections of a 30 something who feels like an adult but a kid at the same time