Moving to America taught me the importance of popularity

20 years later, I’m still trying to unlearn it

Adulting in your 30s
4 min readSep 23, 2023

When I was 12, I emigrated from Taiwan to Los Angeles.

I had always known I was moving “back” to the US. After all, I was born there, I spent summers there, and I had been learning English for as long as I could remember in preparation for the big move.

When the time came, I said goodbye to my friends. We exchanged addresses to we could write each other letters (now I sound really old). I got an allowance of one moving box that I packed with all my favorite toys.

I remember my transition from Taiwan to American as a very smooth one. I assimilated well into school. I made friends easily. I did well in class.

There was one thing though — at my school in Taiwan, elementary school was grade one through six. In six grade, that was when you became eligible to run in the annual student council elections. I always loved election period. Candidates would come up with creative flyers featuring popular cartoons and anime characters, and it was all the hype to collect as many variety of fliers as you can, especially ones featuring your favorite characters.

I didn’t remember anyone running on a platform, and I don’t remember how I decided on who to vote for…

--

--

Adulting in your 30s

Musings and self reflections of a 30 something who feels like an adult but a kid at the same time