Medium 365 day challenge: Day 2 — I’m not feeling the momentum yet

How many days before everything start feeling like an effortless habit?

Adulting in your 30s
3 min readJan 2, 2024
Image: AI-generated using ChatGPT | Owned by the author as per ChatGPT T&C

Days writing: 2

Days not shopping: 2

Days not drinking: 2

Following a schedule to write is hard!

Day two and I already missed my planned schedule of writing at midday. My excuse? I went for a pilates class at noon.

But really, there is no excuse, because I definitely had time in the morning. But I was just…dilly daddling. Doing random small tasks. Nothing meaningful.

So, I have yet to truly begin this habit, but at least I’m writing now.

The temptation to shop is everywhere

And I already had my first temptation to buy something. I sell my used clothes on Vinted, but every time I open Vinted, I’m shown curated recommendations of things to buy. The algorithm is getting pretty good since I had been browsing and liking a lot of things the past months.

Today, I saw a Uniqlo sweater that I had been wanting to buy for a few months. I even bought it in the store but ended up returning it when I came to my senses that the size was not right.

--

--

Adulting in your 30s

Musings and self reflections of a 30 something who feels like an adult but a kid at the same time