Is it love or something else?

Undoing 30 plus years of fake news about love

Adulting in your 30s
3 min readOct 10, 2023
Image: AI-generated using Bing Image Creator | Owned by the author as per Image Creator ToC

By now, I know that love is not a feeling.

Growing up, pop culture, movies, shows, and books have instilled in me the strong conviction that love is feeling.

It’s a feeling you get when you get the butterflies in your stomach. When you want to spend all your time with them. When the sight of them makes you smile.

But as I get older, I eventually learned that love is not at all a feeling. Love is an action. Love is willingness to do the work. Love is accepting someone else’s differences and flaws. Love is not need to be right. Love is open communication.

My rational brain knows this. Yet, I’m only realizing now how deeply the myth about the feeling of love is engrained in me.

Is it a connection?

In the early stages of dating, it’s not love, it’s a connection.

Recently, I met someone that I felt a good connection with. This part is mostly instinctive. Maybe it’s their looks. The way they talk. Their voice. Their story.

Something about them just clicks, and you feel the butterflies. You want to see more of them.

--

--

Adulting in your 30s

Musings and self reflections of a 30 something who feels like an adult but a kid at the same time