I went to a speed dating event so you don’t have to

Let’s make dating efficient again

Adulting in your 30s
3 min readMay 25, 2024
Image generated by DALL·E

When it comes to dating, I’m a strong believer that you have to meet in person to know if there is a connection, and that this spark happens within the first few minutes of meeting.

I have had plenty of experiences where after developing a “text crush” on someone over nights of long back and forth, I finally meet them in person, and my brain is like, MEH.

This is why I have always been curious to try speed dating. It just sounds so efficient, to be able to do a quick vibe quick on several people at once. It saves me so much time on swiping, matching, waiting for them to propose a date (somehow I’ve found that whenever I propose a date, the interest from the other side fizzles. Men like the chase, I guess!), getting ready, showing up for the date…you get the idea.

So when a friend casually mentioned that she was considering going to a speed dating event, I jumped on the opportunity.

I was mostly excited, very curious, and maybe a tiny bit nervous.

The event was organized in two halves — in the first half, the whole group participate in improv games and consent exercises together, and in the second half, we go into the traditional speed date round, with 5 minutes for each pair.

--

--

Adulting in your 30s

Musings and self reflections of a 30 something who feels like an adult but a kid at the same time