How I wasted $250 by trying to save $23

Or an expensive wake up call to reassess my habits

Adulting in your 30s
4 min readSep 3, 2023

In retrospect, it seems so dumb.

I feel ashamed really.

But in the moment, I thought I had time.

Ryan Air flights never close their gates when they say they would. The gate close time is just to scared people to wait at the gate aimlessly. In fact, in my experience, they are usually still in the middle of boarding at the stated flight time.

So, when I made it through security at 6:00AM, I thought I still had plenty of time until my 6:50AM flight.

Now, I have two options:

  1. I go to the gate and wait 50 minutes like a sucker
  2. I go take advantage of my airport lounge benefit from my credit card and pick up $23 worth of free food for my journey.

Although, I’m already basically at my gate, and the lounge is on the opposite side of the airport.

I know the airport pretty well though. It’ll probably take me 10 minutes each way, instead of the stated 30 minutes on the map, and 10 minutes to order food — I’ll be back at 6:30AM, the state gate close time.

I will still have 20 minutes to spare before the real boarding time.

It is a lot of effort though, and I’m not even that hungry.

But still, free is free.

--

--

Adulting in your 30s

Musings and self reflections of a 30 something who feels like an adult but a kid at the same time