Can we stop with the clickbait titles?

This is not the sposred ad section of a gossip news site

Adulting in your 30s
2 min readOct 6, 2023
Image: AI-generated using Bing Image Creator | Owned by the author as per Image Creator ToC

I like medium.

It’s real. Raw.

People are welcoming and empathetic and self aware.

Yet the apparently new(?) algorithm and partner program encourages clickbait titles. Clickbait articles are written on how to write clickbait titles.

And it all feels so cheap.

I’m relatively new to medium, but is this really the type of content it wants to encourage?

I don’t want to write about 5 Garenteed Ways to Make $50k on Writing on Medium. I don’t want my feed to be filled with 3 Steps to Churning Out Articles in 10 Minutes (apparently, numbers in the titles sells, but are oh so clickbait-y)

Just no.

Stop.

Tell me about your life.

I want to hear how you lost and then found yourself.

I want to know why you decided not to date anymore or why you decided to stop talking to your parents.

It’s true, some of these titles are tempting. I’m annoyed at myself for wanting to click on them.

Oxford dictionary defines clickbait as: (on the internet)…

--

--

Adulting in your 30s

Musings and self reflections of a 30 something who feels like an adult but a kid at the same time