An apology to all the short men on dating apps

Or how height became a deciding factor in dating

Adulting in your 30s
2 min readSep 5, 2023

Short men have it tough on dating apps.

All my girl friends claim height as a crucial criteria for attraction.

Even me, who is only 5'3 (160cm) am biased for height.

It’s really unfair. Sometimes, in retrospect, when I really get a good at these tall men, they’re not even that attractive.

Seriously. I think what happens is that they are so tall that I can’t get a good look at their face. So I just look up and some fog comes over and I mistaken their tallness for defined features or nice eyes or a endearing smile.

Once I took me until the third date to realize a guy was balding, because I never had a chance until that point to see the top of the back of his head.

I’m sure I have swiped left on countless men of my dreams simply because they were not at least 5'11 (180cm).

How did I even come to that number?

Before I moved to Europe my standards were much, well shorter.

I dated mostly Asian men, who are on average shorter. I was fine with 5'7 (170cm) or 5'9 (175cm).

--

--

Adulting in your 30s

Musings and self reflections of a 30 something who feels like an adult but a kid at the same time