A letter to my younger self

On the path to uncovering my Samskaras

Adulting in your 30s
3 min readOct 11, 2023
Image: AI-generated using Bing Image Creator | Owned by the author as per Image Creator ToC

I’m so sorry.

I’m sorry you feel like your purpose in life is to find love.

I’m sorry you’re so deeply afraid of being alone.

I’m sorry you spent so much time thinking about what other people thought. That you wasted sleep worrying about popularity.

I want you to know that you are enough.

Your family loves you. Even though they may not show it. They don’t know how. They were never shown how. It’s not their fault, and it’s not yours either.

You need to learn to love yourself.

Your happiness will not come from someone else. Not a guy. Not material things. Only you can give yourself happiness.

You are smart. And beautiful. And interesting.

Don’t hold back your thoughts for fear of other people’s judgement.

The people who judge you are not worth your time.

The people who put you down do it because they are hurting inside. It’s not about you. It’s about them.

Being beautiful and adored in it self is not what you should strive for. I know in movies and books it always seem to be about the beautiful girl and about falling in love and…

--

--

Adulting in your 30s

Musings and self reflections of a 30 something who feels like an adult but a kid at the same time